Playing the Game

From Tainted Grail Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Journal[edit | edit source]

Q: While reading the journal, are you allowed to see the "costs" (energy, stat check, reputation, etc.) of the different choices?

A: All results that are intended to be secret will be hidden behind redirections to different verses or entries in the Book of Secrets. In addition; when playing in a party it is recommended to have a player be the "chronicler" who will read/retell what the journal says. In this case one could withhold information about the consequences for extra immersion, but you don't need to. There will also be a “How to Use the Exploration Journal” entry in the journal to help you learn how to use it.

Q: My party reached a journal choice or redirection that says: “If you’re Ailei...” Are we allowed to proceed even if Ailei is one of several party members? (official FAQ)

A: Yes! As mentioned in the “How to Use the Exploration Journal,” it is always enough for one party member to meet the requirements in order to unlock the choice for the entire party. This also applies to character-specific choices.

Q: My party reached a journal entry that says, “Gain 1 Wealth”. Do we all get one? If not, who gets it? (official FAQ)

A: As explained in “How to Use Exploration Journal” section (found in the journal), the party receives 1 point of wealth and has to assign it to one party member. All scalable rewards use the “each Party member gains” wording instead. Please keep in mind that many rewards are static and need to be shared – after all, an amount of gold in a chest won’t multiply just because more characters dug the chest out. There are also rare static penalties that need to be assigned to chosen characters. If party members can’t agree on who receives the reward or the penalty, the chronicler makes the final call. If there’s no chronicler, the character with the lowest character number decides instead. Remember that in Tainted Grail you lose or win together! We encourage players to discuss and find solutions that would maximize their chances as a team.

Q: My party reached a journal entry that said: “Move to the lowest-numbered connected Location.” Do we all move, or does only one character move? (official FAQ)

A: Parties cannot split mid-exploration unless explicitly stated in the journal. Each effect that moves characters moves the entire party. The same goes for effects that result in passing the whole day.

Q: Many of the location cards tell us to read a certain verse if we have a certain status or other effect. My question is: what if I have several of such statuses/effects mentioned in a particular location? To which verse should I go then?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- It's all covered (with examples) in the "How to Use Exploration Journal" section. But in short: there are two types of "switchboards" in the Journal: choice lists and redirections.
(1) Choice lists: you can take any choice that you meet requirements of.
(2) Redirections: when reading a verse from top to bottom, you take a first redirection that applies to you. For example, "If you have some status, go to verse 5" means that if you have some status, don't read any further and immediately go to verse 5.

Q: I heard that the checks during exploration were completely random, because you roll a dice to resolve them. Is that true?

A: They aren’t completely random. There are ways to mitigate the risks… but, these will be left for you to discover. You may also notice that many of these checks thematically involve particular attribute values, so increasing those will help too!

Locations & Menhirs[edit | edit source]

Q: If the activation cost for a Menhir says, "3 Energy, 1 Health, 1 Wealth, and 1 Magic (per player)," does everything scale up to the number of players or just the Magic?

A: Everything scales up. So, if there are 3 characters in the game, then the total costs will be 9 Energy, 3 Health, 3 Wealth, and 3 Magic (4 Magic if Arev is in-game). Here's the rules reference on pg. 9 that tells us all costs scale, not just one of them, "Important: please note all costs of Activating a Menhir scale up with the total number of players in the game (and not only in the Party!)."

Q: The friendly and unfriendly settlement icons are the same except one is green and one is red. This will be hard to distinguish for red-green color-blindness. What are the location numbers for the friendly settlements?

A: In addition to the icon, all hostile settlements can also be identified by the instant rule printed on them. As noted by the rulebook, this often means resolving a diplomacy encounter. If you would like to know the location numbers which are friendly, just message one of us and we'll share them with you. 

Items[edit | edit source]

Q: When you are told to gain a random item, does that include the “craftable” items?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- Yes! Random Items are drawn from the entire Item deck that also contains Craftable Items. 

Q: When exactly am I allowed to change the armour, relics, and weapons I’m using? (official FAQ)

A: As outlined in the “Items” and “Playing the Game” sections of the rulebook, players equip their characters at the start of the day and are only allowed to change their active Items when they acquire a new item or lose a part of their equipment. The purpose of this rule is to avoid players changing or micro-managing their entire equipment several times a day, with specific encounters in mind – after all, when a hill troll jumps out at you, it’s too late to change out of your diplomat’s robe into something more sturdy.

Q: Can I sell items?

A: The general answer is “no.” But, there may be occasional in-game ways to do so. This is all explained when those opportunities arise. 

Start of the day (phase I, page 8)[edit | edit source]

Q: Do you reduce the Menhir counter on the very first day of the campaign?

A: Yes, this is done so that the upkeep actions are the same for every day, which streamlines the ruleset. (pg. 7 - 8)

Q: Can I run out of event cards in the deck if I play one chapter long enough? (official FAQ)

A: No. When properly maintained, the event deck will keep adding new events indefinitely, until you finish the chapter.

Q: Help! I drew an Event card that doesn’t seem to make sense story-wise. (official FAQ)

A: Please return to recently revealed Event cards and re-read them. Event cards often ask you to put some additional random events and special events on top of the deck – overlooking this might result in drawing a card you shouldn’t draw at this point in the game.

Secret Cards[edit | edit source]

Q: Should I have 4 copies of Secret #66?

A: Yes. 

During the day (phase II, page 8-9)[edit | edit source]

Q: When activating a new Menhir, do orthogonally adjacent locations get automatically added/revealed?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- According to rules, Activating a Menhir on its own does not reveal any additional Locations! Locations are revealed by Characters and during their Travel. This happens whenever you have an “open” Direction Key at the edge of your current Location, and the Location you would reveal is in the Active Menhir range. In short: when a new Menhir is lit up, check if anything new could be revealed around each Character and only reveal those cards. 

Q: What if I run out of Menhir models, tokens or markers? (official FAQ)

A: Running out of Menhirs is impossible, as only three Menhirs may stay active at any given moment. If you decide to activate a fourth Menhir, you need to take it from another location of your choice. Tokens and markers should never run out in a standard game. However, in the extremely unlikely event they do, you are free to use any temporary replacement pieces (such as dice or wooden cubes) until some of the components are freed.

Q: Can you move more than 1 space? If so how much energy would it cost?

A: It's stated in the rulebook as an example on pg. 8: "Example: Going from Cuanacht Farmhold to Whitening will require two Travel Actions, as diagonal movement is not allowed." Each travel action costs 1 energy. In general, the rules say to do 1 action and then move to the next character, but dependent on the game group you could allow players to take multiple moves at once, each move would still cost 1 energy each. So 3 moves would cost 3 energy. It would make sense to do something like this when for example: you want to gather a party before taking certain actions or doing certain encounters.

Q: My character traveled to location A. Then another character already in location A starts to explore. Am I allowed to join them? Doesn’t it count as taking two actions in a row? (official FAQ)

A: You can! By default, players should take turns making their actions, but joining someone else’s action does not count against this limit.

Q: When drawing a green encounter, Beautiful weather allows you to draw two and pick the one with the lowest value. The Traveling Merchant has no value printed. Is its value 0 for the purposes of this check?

A: Yes. No Value has the same meaning as zero value. Cards that do not trigger actual Combat have no value to reinforce the fact players cannot fight them.

End of the day (phase III, page 9)[edit | edit source]

Q: What happens when you don't eat food at the end of the day. Step 1) says to drop your energy to zero, but then step 2) seems to immediately raise it again. Should you skip step 2) when you didn't eat any food?

A: If you don't eat, you first become Exhausted by dropping Energy to 0. If you were already Exhausted (or you're Beor), you lose a point of Health instead. On top of that, Exhausted characters only restore 4 points of Energy. So, not eating causes you to restore less Energy and potentially lose Health.

Dreams and nightmares (page 9)[edit | edit source]

Q: How do dreams work? Do you read dreams per character or per relevant location?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- We suggest to read Dreams and Nightmares per Location to minimize downtime and maximize player involvement. Pick any Location containing Characters. Read the Dream to all Characters there who have it. Then, read the Nightmare to all Characters there who have one. Repeat for any other Locations that contain Characters. 
Please note, though, that the order or way in which you read dreams has no gameplay impact. If players would rather read their dreams personally, straight from the Journal, they can do so. 

Q: Regarding dreams; what happens if multiple characters, including Maggot, are in a location, do we read a nightmare or a dream?

A: From Krzysztof Piskorski- Characters who meet the Dream criteria read the Dream. Characters who meet the Nightmare criteria read the Nightmare.