Helpful Rules Reminders (Commonly Missed Rules)

The printable version is no longer supported and may have rendering errors. Please update your browser bookmarks and please use the default browser print function instead.

Before Reading Below

Lose vs. Pay

The distinction between "lose" and "pay" is important.


  • When getting a skill card, you can pick from the total pool of skill cards---rules pg. 5


  • Always draw events from the Event deck, not from the Random Event deck.


  • "If you don’t like your starting hand, you can discard it and draw a new hand with one less card. You may repeat this until you only have one card left in your hand."---rules pg. 14 and 18


  • Escaping Combat requires you to lose 1 Energy and receive the Opportunity Attack! You can still Escape if you have no Energy, since it says "lose."---rules pg. 14
  • If an Encounter or a card played tells you to lose [red cubes] and you don't have enough, you must discard cards from your hand for each excess point.---rules pg. 16
  • If you're told to discard cards from your hand and you don't have enough to cover the discard, you have to discard cards from the top of your deck.---rules pg. 16
  • If you play no cards during your turn in a Combat Encounter, you draw a card after receiving the Opportunity attack.---rules pg. 15