Encounters and Guardians
Encounter rules, icons, triggers and effects (page 15-16)
Q: When playing cards during combat/diplomacy, what order do all the effects trigger?
A: From Design Team- The intended order is: Keys first (from top to bottom) and then the ability, including “on placement” abilities. Technically, the card becomes a part of the sequence only after you join its keys, so they need to go first.
Q: Can I choose to discard my own cards from the sequence when I see the "torn card icon"?
A: A player cannot choose to discard cards from the sequence.
Q: If a character is in a different location and is struggling with combat/diplomacy, can I jump in the middle of combat to help?
A: No, unless explicitly stated by something else in game, the general rules don’t allow you to jump in during the middle of combat/diplomacy.
Q: If one character escapes during an encounter, do their cards stay in the sequence or do the cards get removed?
A: From Design Team- They stay. They are shuffled back into the decks only after the Encounter ends, as there’s no rule that would remove these cards from the Sequence. And if there are any passive cards belonging to the Escaped Character, they may still be activated.
Q: If Character A is on a location with an instant rule “Draw a blue encounter when you enter this location.” and Character B enters that location, are the two characters allowed to form a party and resolve the encounter together or does the encounter trigger before the characters can form a party?
A: From Design Team- The rules state players may always join any Action that starts in their Location. And while they do not specifically mention instant Encounters, it also apply to them. When you trigger such Encounter, all Characters already in the Location may decide to join you.
Q: The Free Key for the last card in the sequence is the void icon. If the next card I play is my second card during this turn, can I place this card in the sequence if its connecting Free Key is the "play an additional card" bonus icon? Or is that icon canceled and I can't connect the card.
A: From Design Team- The lightning icon is canceled. The void icon erases every icon, including this one.
Q: For cards that let you gain markers for each connected key, does that include both the single and double version (assuming it's an attribute) of the key? For example, Heroic Strike says "On placement lose 1 Energy. Then gain combat markers for each connected Courage key."
A: From Design Team- A Key with two Courage symbols still counts as a Courage Key – it just has a higher Attribute requirement. In case of Heroic Strike, you will gain one marker for each connected Key with one Courage symbol and one marker for each connected Key with two Courage symbols.
Q: When counting keys in a sequence, do double keys count as 2?
A: No, just as 1 connected key.
Q: For cards that give [red cube] based on the number of "Connected Attribute Keys," do we count valid connections (character must have attribute level)?
A: "It’s simpler than that - the rule might not be precise about this, but it reads the number of keys that physically join together (both halves of the key meet). So you take a glance at the sequence and quickly count those." https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2333681/article/33627686#33627686.
Q: I take 2 points of damage - I have one item that reduces damage by 1 (but not to zero) and another item that simply reduces damage by 1. How much damage do I take?
A: In general, if two things have exactly the same timing we leave it for the player to decide which one to use first (you are free to resolve them in a way that benefits you most, like the order of your damage prevention Items that all trigger on enemy's Attack). https://boardgamegeek.com/article/33551004#33551004
Charges (pages 15 + 19)
Q: How exactly do charges and “Pay X charges” abilities work? I’m confused because some cards say to place charges on other cards. Can you put charges on card which don’t have a “Pay X charges” ability?
A: From Design Team- A card can only use Charges that were placed on it. If a card (for example: “Support”) places Charges anywhere in the Sequence, it is up to you to place them in the most beneficial way. If you put them on a card that has no Charge-related ability, you simply won’t be able to use them. In short: cards that grant extra Charges are mostly used to “charge up” cards that burn Charges.
Q: Assuming you have enough charges for multiple activations, how many times can you use passive abilities (the "pay X charges" abilities) on a turn?
A: From Design Team- As many times as you want, as long as you can afford to pay.
Losing resources in encounters
Q: Some diplomacy Encounters cause you to lose Wealth or Energy on Response (for example, “Temptations”). What happens if I run out?
A: If the Encounter has any unusual win or lose conditions, they are defined on the card (for example, see the "Whispering Wisp"). "Temptations" has no special end condition, therefore it is resolved according to the standard rules - which means players in the encounter will keep losing 1 Energy and 1 Wealth with each Response until they win, decide to Escape, or someone runs out of Diplomacy cards. Please keep in mind that "Loss" can always trigger, even if you don't have enough Resources - for example, if you have 1 Energy, "Lose 3 Energy" will simply put you at 0.
Q: What do I do if a combat/diplomacy card tells me to lose a resource I don't have?
A: If a combat/diplomacy card tells you to lose a resource (wealth, reputation, food, magic) or energy, always lose as much as you can, up to the indicated value. You can still play cards that tell you to lose one of the above even if you don’t have any to lose. For example, Beor is in a diplomacy encounter and plays Threatening Voice, which says “[On placement] lose 1 Rep. If you have at least 2 Aggression, move the affinity track marker up 1.” If Beor has no reputation, he can still play that card. This is different than if a combat/diplomacy passive ability tells you to pay a resource. If you can’t pay the resource, then you can’t use the ability. For example, Beor is in a diplomacy encounter and plays Evasiveness, which has an ability that says, “Pay 2 Charges and 2 [Energy]: End this Encounter without Reward or Penalty.” If Beor doesn’t have enough Charges or Energy, he can’t use the ability. Note: other characters in the party can assist by paying these Energy/Magic costs (see FAQ entry Can I cover the energy and magic cost for my party members in encounters?).
Q: If my teammate has no wealth and needs to pay it at the end of turn, can I share my wealth?
A: Party members can trade food, wealth, items and secrets at any time, as long as the party is not currently involved in an encounter (page 11). You can't choose to receive the attack / response aimed at another player, so you may not "redirect" the energy and wealth loss (they always affect the active Character).
Q: Can I cover the energy and magic cost for my party members in encounters?
A: When a party is in an encounter (combat and diplomacy), members of the party may help cover energy and magic costs of the other party members. These are often the costs to use passive ("Pay X charges") abilities. (pg. 11) Link to discussion
Q: When in a party is in an encounter, can a non-active character use an item?
A: From Design Team- Yes. There’s no rule that would restrict other Characters from using their Items, even if it’s your Activation. Just keep in mind that unless stated otherwise on the card, Items only benefit their owners. For example, if your armor prevents damage, it will only prevent it for you, and if your weapon adds a marker at the start of the Activation, it will only do so when you become Active!
Q: A character is in a combat encounter which has a Robber trait. The character is at low health and decides to Run Away; however, running away also means the character receives an Opportunity Attack, which puts them at 1 health, triggering the Robber trait. What happens? Does the character get to Run Away without triggering the Robber trait or do both happen?
A: From Design Team- Opportunity Attack that triggers when a Character Escapes needs to be resolved completely, with all its consequences. In this case, Character would fall to 1 Health, triggering the Robber trait and suffering all its results. To Escape without getting robbed, Character would need to have at least 3 Health, which would put them at two Health after the Opportunity Attack.
Guardians movement (page 12)
Q: What happens if a guardian encounter moves into a settlement?
A: There is no rule against guardians moving into settlements.
Q: What happens if a guardian moves to an unrevealed or unconnected location?
A: If this ever happens then move it to the highest numbered connected location instead.
Q: From pg. 12 of the rules, “If the Guardian should move to an unrevealed or unconnected Location, move it to the highest-numbered connected Location instead,” but what happens if a Menhir gets removed and the location where the guardian was gets removed? Does the guardian disappear, or does it move to the highest-numbered connected Location?
A: From Design Team- When you discard a Location from the game, you naturally remove all tokens, markers, and any other things (including Guardians) present on this card. Only Characters have a rule that moves them back to another Location – Guardians do not. Luring a Guardian to the part of the map that’s about to drown in Wyrdness is a legal move, and one of the few ways to get rid of a Guardian without fighting it.